CFP® Certification

Only those who have fulfilled the certification and renewal requirements of the Certified Financial Planner Board of Standards are eligible to use the CFP® certification.

CFP® certification requires the following:

  • Education
    CFP® professionals must develop their theoretical and practical financial planning knowledge by completing a course of studies at a college or university offering financial planning curriculum approved by the CFP Board.
  • Examination
    After completion of all classes, CFP® practitioners must pass a comprehensive, two-day, 10-hour CFP® Certification Exam that tests their ability to apply financial planning knowledge in an integrated format. The exam covers the financial planning process, tax planning, employee benefits, retirement planning, estate planning, investment management, and insurance. This test is similar to the bar exam for attorneys or the CPA exam for accountants.
  • Experience
    CFP® professionals must have a minimum of three years' experience before earning the right to use the CFP® certification.
  • Ethics
    CFP® practitioners agree to abide by a strict code of professional conduct, known as the CFP Board's Code of Ethics and Professional Responsibility.
  • Continuing Education
    A minimum of 30 hours of continuing education is required biannually to maintain CFP® status.


CFP®, CERTIFIED FINANCIAL PLANNER™, andare certification marks owned by the Certified Financial Planner Board of Standards, Inc. These marks are awarded to individuals who successfully complete the CFP Board's initial and ongoing certification requirements.